Add to Cart

The Post-Bop Drum Book

A Complete Overview of Contemporary Jazz Drumming Book with Online Audio & Video
by Mike Clark

With The Post-Bop Drum Book, jazz/funk drumming legend Mike Clark provides a complete overview of contemporary jazz drumming. The book combines conceptual text with notated exercises, transcriptions and performance concepts covering bebop and post-bop drumming. Topics covered include developing the ride beat, comping, triplet variations, advanced independence with the hi-hat as a fourth voice, the jazz waltz, rolls, fives and sevens, be-bop phrasing, post-bop phrasing, straight-eighth phrasing, and more. Mike provides insight into his background and development, and shares his thoughts on developing your own voice, studying the masters, heritage and lineage, communicating with other musicians, listening, creativity, tuning, and much more. The package is rounded out by audio and video files of Mike performing many of the examples from the book. Audio is accessed online using the unique code inside the book and can be streamed or downloaded. The audio files include PLAYBACK+, a multi-functional audio player that allows you to slow down audio without changing pitch, set loop points, change keys, and pan left or right.

Questions? Click here to get answers!

Catalog Number 339771 / HDBK51
Publisher Hudson Music
ISBN 1540090760
UPC 840126916942
Format Book/Online Audio & Video
Series Percussion
Size 12.00x9.00
Weight 10.2 oz