Add to Cart

Symphony in D Major Hob.1:96 (London Symphony)

Study Score

The twelve London Symphonies comprise the sublime final statement of Haydn's symphonic oeuvre. They were written for the London impresario Johann Peter Salomon, and Haydn himself conducted their premieres during his lengthy stays in the English metropolis in 1791/92 and 1794/95. Hailing from 1791, the Symphony in D major no. 96 numbers among the first symphonies written in and for London. The epithet given to it by posterity, The Miracle, was bestowed erroneously, for the miracle - that no one was injured when a chandelier fell during a concert - took place during a performance of a different Haydn symphony. And yet it is a miracle of musical esprit nonetheless; from the subtle relations between the motives consisting of broken triads that open all four movements, to the virtuosic shifts in mood owing to surprising harmonies, Haydn here submits a prime example of how he develops musical ideas. This study edition adopts the musical text of the Haydn Complete Edition, thereby guaranteeing the highest scholarly quality. An informative preface and a brief Critical Report make the handy score an ideal companion for all current and soon-to-be Haydn fans.

Questions? Click here to get answers!

Catalog Number 51489064 / HN9064
Publisher Henle Urtext Edition
UPC 840126937640
Instrument Study Score
Format Study Score
Series Henle Music Folios
Size 9.50x6.75
Weight 5.1 oz